Barts and The London School of Medicine and Dentistry

About Us menu

About Athena SWAN

Image result for athena swan bronze logo

The Equality Challenge Unit's Athena SWAN Charter was established in 2005 to encourage and recognise commitment to advancing the careers of women in science, technology, engineering, maths and medicine (STEMM) employment in higher education and research. In May 2015 the charter was expanded and now recognises work undertaken to address gender equality more broadly, and not just barriers to progression that affect women.

Because of the size of our department, the Medical School and Dental School submit seperate applications for the Athena SWAN Charter. The Medical School successfully submitted for Silver in the November 2014 submission round, joined only by the School of Biological Sciences within Queen Mary University to hold the award at this level. We are currently awaiting the results of our November 2017 application, where we re-applied for Silver under the new post-May 2015 expanded criteria for Silver status.

The School of Dentistry currently holds a bronze award, and is in the process of applying for Silver in the April 2018 round.

We are committed to the 10 Athena SWAN principles.

There are currently 143 Athena SWAN members, holding 669 awards between them.

If you have any questions about Athena SWAN or require more information about our previous or upcoming submission, please contact Laura Simpson, School of Medicine and Dentistry's Athena SWAN Coordinator.


Bookmark and Share
Return to top